Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post Reply
User avatar
Stone_age
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8053
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: Satans Butt Crack PA

Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post by Stone_age » Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:50 am

There isn't any AM3 core unlocking feature with this board. I can shut off cores but not unlock any additional cores. If any of you have this feature let me know the bios. I doubt it will though as Asus also has a core unlock switch on the board if they unlock. Even my M5A78-M LX allows cores to be unlocked.

User avatar
zila1
Oh no, There goes Tokyo
Oh no, There goes Tokyo
Posts: 2719
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 11:04 pm
Location: Chikawga

Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post by zila1 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:16 pm

That board does not have the core unlocker feature to it. On any bios.

User avatar
Stone_age
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8053
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: Satans Butt Crack PA

Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post by Stone_age » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:38 pm

Dang. I guess I keep playing musical motherboards.

User avatar
Bones
Dammit Jim!
Dammit Jim!
Posts: 5441
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:30 am
Location: One foot in the grave...

Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post by Bones » Fri Aug 19, 2016 4:41 pm

No, that is only on the first gen of the board series, my 2.0 doesn't have it and the CHV-Z's don't either.

It's largely because AMD at that time was having a fit over it and strongly "Urged" board makers to discontinue the feature and most did, there are only a handfull (If that many) of any revised models that will still do it.
DFI Ultra II Infinity / XP-M 2800 IQYHA @ 2840MHz
Abit NF7-S / XP2400+ T-Bred AIUHB @ 2719MHz
DFI LP UT SLI-DR / Opteron 148 @ 3654MHz
DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D / Opteron 165 @ 3514MHz
DFI NF4X / Mobile A64 3700+ Newark @ 3203MHz
(R.I.P.) DFI NF4X Infinity / Ref clock @ 488.18MHz - #2 all time record for Socket 754 in the world

They have alot of stuff..... I have alot of junk.... And I mean lots of it....

User avatar
Stone_age
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8053
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:34 pm
Location: Satans Butt Crack PA

Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX r2.0

Post by Stone_age » Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:06 pm

Yeah, my GIG 990fx ud3 r5 tries to unlock my 840T, but it doesn't give the option of selecting the cores to unlock and it only unlocks to 5 with core 5 being the dead one. It's okay though, my other Asus 890 & 880 boards unlock cores.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest